The Alabama Historical Commission is the state agency charged with safeguarding Alabama’s historic buildings and sites. Created by an act of the state legislature in 1966, it consists of twenty-two appointed members who represent a broad cross section of Alabamians.

For more information about contacting the Commissioners please call Stacey Little at 334-230-2697.

Upcoming Meetings: Quarterly, Executive Committee, Finance Committee


Dr. Jim Day, University of Montevallo


Dale Townsend, Member-at-Large


Steve Murray, Alabama Department of Archives & History


General Walter Givhan, Troy University


Ann Bedsole


Trey Granger

Alabama Archaeological Society

Dr. Craig Sheldon

Alabama Department of Conservation & Natural Resources

Chris Blankenship

Alabama Department of Tourism

Lee Sentell

Alabama Farmers Federation

Michelle Thompson

Alabama Historical Association

Dr. Ralph Draughon, Jr.


American Institute of Architects

Eddie Griffith

Auburn University

Dr. Karen Rogers

Black Heritage Council

Mr. Thomas L. Coley, Jr.

Business Council of Alabama

William F. Denson III

Historic Chattahoochee Commission

Martin Olliff

State of Alabama Building Commission

Frank Barnes

University of Alabama

Dr. Shirley Foster

University of South Alabama

Elizabeth Stevens

Governor of Alabama

Honorable Kay Ivey / Baker Allen

Lieutenant Governor of Alabama

Senator Del Marsh, Acting on Behalf of Lieutenant Governor Office

Speaker of the House

Honorable Mac McCutcheon